Thanks for: Game Downloads Without Disks

Dear Computer Game Makers,

My evening was full of Windows pop-ups. “Please insert Disk 4. Please insert disk 2 of expansion pack 3. Please re-insert disk 4. Please re-insert disk 1 of expansion pack 1. Please adjust compatibility.” That’s what I get for trying to install a Windows XP program on my newish Windows 8.1 laptop. I hope you appreciate this Sims 2 because the process is a bugger.

Which made me incredibly thankful for my new laptop, its increased memory capacity and processing speed, and the potential to just download things and never again dig through a pile of scratched disks. The beauty of modern technology. Should I wish to purchase the new Sims 4 game I can simply download it. No disks required. It’s beautiful. Let’s examine how far we’ve come with game installations:

There’s no fumbling with multiple cases – you wanted which installation pack? Where did I put that one? In the pile of 13 other expansion packs. oh good.

There’s no lost disks – Okay, I have disks 1 and 3 but where in world is disk 2. Panic and rip apart entire office. Aha! Under the 1998 phonebook. Naturally, that’s exactly where it belongs.

There’s no unnoticed lost disks – Disks 1, 2, and 3. Perfect. Proceeding with Install. 45 minutes later… ‘Please insert disk 4’. DISK 4? There’s a disk FOUR? I don’t have a disk 4! WHO NEEDS FOUR DISKS TO ADD SOME PUPPIES AND KITTENS

You can’t lose your access code – ‘Please enter your 16 access code now’. Um no. I’m sorry. I didn’t hang onto the promotional piece of paper from when I bought thing ten years ago.

People on the internet can’t judge you for losing your access code – Question: “Hi Internet, could someone give me the access code for Sims 2 Pets? I seem to have lost mine” Answer: “Thief! Pirate! You still play that game?”

No infinite cue of INSERT THIS DISK IN THE NEXT 30 SECONDS OR YOU’LL HAVE TO START ALL OVER MOVE NOW

And none of this nonsense – Better go find that patch. Patch. What patch? I don’t have a patch. Too bad you need the patch. Enjoy the internet downloads and the viruses that they may or may not contain.

HAHA scratches

Oh yes new ability to download games without disks. You make my 5 hours of trying to install something beautiful.

Aria

2 thoughts on “Thanks for: Game Downloads Without Disks

Leave a Reply

